top of page
Cries and Whispers, excerptsThe Nobilis Trio
00:00 / 06:56

Ruggero Allifranchini, violin

Suren Bagratuni, cello

Stephen Prutsman, piano

Cries and Whispers, composed in 2004 and revised in 2012, is at times a dark and despairing piece. Tightly constructed from a harmonic/motivic perspective, the music attempts to be emotionally compelling – at times aggressive and insistent, and at times quietly reaching out to create an embracing serenity. Many passages are to be played in a natural, speech-like style expressing pleading or questioning. Although no answers are suggested, the work offers hope for peace and amity.

bottom of page