top of page

I Surrender: Rhapsody for Clarinet and Orchestra

Orchestra 3,2,2,2 - 4,2,3,1 - 4 perc, strings

I Surrender: Rhapsody for Clarinet and OrchestraWes Warnhoff, clarinet; Alma Symphony
00:00 / 17:09

The great Chilean poet Pablo Neruda wrote a series of 100 Love Sonnets (Cien sonetos de amor) inspired by his wife Matilde Urrutia.   He wrote to her: “When I set this task for myself, I knew very well that down the right side of sonnets, with elegant discriminating taste, poets of all times have arranged rhymes that sounded like silver, or crystal, or cannonfire. But - with great humility - I made these sonnets out of wood; I gave them the sound of that opaque pure substance, and that is how they should reach your ears… Now that I have declared the foundations of my love, I surrender this century to you; wooden sonnets that rise only because you gave them life.”

Neruda’s Sonnets encompass far more than simple tributes to beauty; they celebrate all dimensions of love, from subtle caresses to fits of jealousy. I Surrender uses the expressive and wide-ranging voice of the clarinet to convey these emotions. This instrument, created of wood, perfectly captures the earthy passion and erotic mystery of Neruda’s poetic imagination.



Wes Warnhoff, Clarinet

bottom of page